Print Junkie

05/24/2011 § 1 Comment

stacked collection

At the age of 15 or 16, I began to develop a huge interest in magazines. My taste was different to what it is now. Back then it consisted of Cosmo, Vogue, and Elle. When I go home, my mom has still keeps my magazines stacked in a corner basket. Now at the age of 23, (24 next week) my stack in my current flat consist of menswear magazines, womenswear magazines, art, and some interior. Some of them have been cut into, according to projects I had to develop during Uni or even for my own personal projects.

As I was reading an article which spoke about IPAD magazines and how it has not been as successful as speculators thought them to be, made me think it is one of the best ideas to help keep print alive in a more modern way. However, for print junkies like me, we love to see the stack growing within our living space. It becomes part of who and what I am, but also the easier way to look back when searching for that much needed image or article.

When it comes to using online sources and googling articles/images, so often the quality can be pixalated and not even worth using. And the fact is something that was pre-digital, you will not be able to find in any archive on the web. And lastly, digital things get stolen, even if you were to archive sadly enough this data tends to get lost.  Its great to see magazines finding a way to keep their content alive in an age were digital is hugely accounted for.  For print junkies like me, we will still want to keep stacking.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Print Junkie

  • Nadia says:

    I miss being able to buy fashion magazines in London. To buy them here, I have to go out of my way. I walk into Borders or Barnes and Nobles and all I see is vogue and elle:( I do find a few that I want here and there

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Print Junkie at We Ramirez.

meta

