Memories and Death

03/21/2011 § Leave a comment

Gabriel Orozco, Obit Series via tate.blog

The fascination of death that we just can’t seem to escape.  Last week when I was at Biutiful, a few ladies were discussing the inspiration of death Iñárritu used from his own cultural background.

Growing up in a culture where holidays, like Day of the Dead are a big part of our culture and having many beliefs around those loved ones when they pass away, its hard to understand why others see this as a wonder, when to me its been the norm.  I looked into this skull today when visiting the exhibition and I have to say I got a bit spooked. (I found myself in a jumpy form, only to notice everyone else was fascinated by it.)

When visiting exhibitions the impact they have on you, tends to be the rating on how good it was and how it made you think.  Life after death, I can’t say I am completely sure about, but what we leave here  is the inspiration to many others.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Memories and Death at We Ramirez.

meta

